9 new Beaufort County SC college principals named

Nine Beaufort County College District campuses will have new principals next yr, superintendent Frank Rodriguez introduced Wednesday.

Beaufort Elementary, M.C. Riley Elementary, Mossy Oaks Elementary, Okatie Elementary, Lady’s Island Elementary, Robert Smalls Global Academy, H.E. McCracken Center, Hilton Head Island Middle and Battery Creek Higher School will have new faces in the principal’s business in the tumble.

The district also will be picking new principals for Whale Branch Early College or university Substantial Faculty and Whale Department Center School in early July, in accordance to a district press release.

Seven of the new principals previously served as assistant principals or principals in other places in the district, even though two arrive from outdoors the district.

Who are the new principals?

M.C. Riley Elementary College: Melissa Holland, who has served as the principal of Beaufort Elementary School due to the fact 2015, will be the new principal. She’s replacing Adrienne Sutton, who is retiring just after 30 yrs with the district.

Holland has been with the district for additional than 20 a long time, serving as a teacher at Hilton Head Island Elementary School and assistant principal at Bluffton, Lady’s Island, and Beaufort elementary educational institutions. She retains a master’s diploma in Early Childhood Instruction from the College of South Carolina.

Beaufort Elementary: Michelle Sackman will swap Holland as principal. She has been the principal at Mossy Oaks Elementary because 2017. Sackman has also been with the district for extra than 20 many years, and presently serves as a curriculum author and facilitator for the S.C. Department of Instruction. She holds a master’s diploma in Training Leadership from Capella College.

Mossy Oaks Elementary: Melissa Vogt is having in excess of for Sackman at Mossy Oaks Elementary. Vogt has been the principal of Whale Branch Elementary College considering the fact that 2018. She taught at M.C. Riley Elementary University at the beginning of her 20-moreover yr occupation with the district and has served as an assistant principal at Bluffton, Broad River and Red Cedar elementary educational facilities. She retains a master’s diploma in Training Management from Ga Southern College.

Whale Department Elementary: Marva Neal will transfer from an assistant principal job at Okatie Elementary, where she has worked since 2011, to substitute Vogt at Whale Branch Elementary. Neal commenced her vocation with the United States Air Force, serving as an details manager and air cargo specialist. She has been with the district for more than 20 many years and has held positions at St. Helena and Okatie elementary colleges.

She earned a master’s degree in Instructional Administration from the College of South Carolina, and she retains two extra master’s degrees from Lesley University in Technologies in Schooling and Curriculum and Instruction.

Lady’s Island Elementary: Davina Coleman is the new principal of Lady’s Island Elementary University. She has served as an assistant principal at Robert Smalls Global Academy due to the fact 2018 and is changing Marvelle Ulmer, who is retiring soon after a ten years as principal.

Coleman commenced her educational career as a math instructor in Hawaii and has held positions at Beaufort Middle Faculty and Robert Smalls International Academy. She holds a master’s diploma in Schooling in Administration from the University of South Carolina.

Robert Smalls Worldwide Academy: Bradley Tarrance is the new principal of Robert Smalls Global Academy. He formerly served as a principal in Grand Rapids, Mich. for Godwin Heights Public Universities. He’s changing Celeste LaVan, who was named an executive director for the district.

Tarrance has 20-additionally years in education, owning served as a middle school language arts teacher and principal of two switch-around middle universities in San Antonio, Texas. He holds a master’s degree in Education and learning Management from Trinity University in San Antonio.

H.E. McCracken Center College: Ryan Milling will be the principal at H.E. McCracken Center School, the place he has served as an assistant principal for the earlier yr. He’s changing Lindsey Skirtich, who is having a occupation in the non-public sector.

Milling started his academic occupation as a university counselor and held positions in Darlington, Fort Mill and Florence College District A few in advance of coming to Beaufort County in 2020. He holds master’s degrees in Instructional Leadership and Counseling and Advancement, both of those from Winthrop University.

Hilton Head Island Middle University: Tanja Wheeler will be the new principal, changing Patricia Freda, who is retiring right after a lot more than 35 yrs in schooling. Wheeler has been an educator for a lot more than 30 decades and served as principal at Nacel Global School Devices and Foreseeable future Global University. Wheeler retains a doctorate degree in Educational Management and Administration from Capella University.

Battery Creek High College: Denise Lessard will be the principal of Battery Creek Significant University, exactly where she has been an assistant principal given that 2017. She’s changing Chad Cox, who was promoted to an government director placement with the district.

Lessard has worked in instruction for more than 30 years, setting up as a trainer in New Hampshire before coming to Beaufort County in 2015 as a social reports instructor at Whale Branch Early University Significant School and an tutorial coach at Battery Creek High. She holds a Certification of Advanced Graduate Studies in Academic Management from Plymouth State University.

Associated tales from Hilton Head Island Packet

Rachel Jones addresses instruction for the Island Packet and the Beaufort Gazette. She attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and has worked for the Day by day Tar Heel and Charlotte Observer. She has won awards from the South Carolina Press Affiliation, Involved School Press and North Carolina Higher education Media Association for element creating and training reporting.